North Wales Crusaders 12-22 Hunslet RLFC

Hunslet RLFC remain top of the Betfred League 1 after an impressive win in Wrexham.

Josh Tonks opened the scoring crashing over from close range following a penalty after 10 minutes, Reece Dean kicked the extras as Hunslet took a 0-6 lead.

Dean kicked a penalty goal on 18 minutes and had a second opportunity two minutes later but could make the kick. However he did convert Gareth Potts’ try three minutes later, extending the Parksiders lead to 0-14.

Hunslet kept up the pressure, but on the half hour they lost the ball as they approached the Crusaders line. Sam Freeman took the ball and ran 90m to score for North Wales, but he failed to convert his try: 4-14.

Freeman kicked a penalty goal as the half ended. Half time score: North Wales Crusaders 6-14 Hunslet RLFC.

Early in the second half Dean added another penalty for Hunslet following a high tackle. North Wales then had a good period of possession, but were thwarted by Hunslet’s dogged defence and good game management, repeatedly finding touch when kicking at the end of their set.

On 66 minutes Jack Lee scored under the posts, and with Dean’s conversion took Hunslet’s lead to 6-22.

The Crusaders scored again five minutes from the hooter when Elliott Jenkins collected a kick to score. Sam Freeman converted the try, but Hunslet saw out the match to win 12-22.

Next week (Sunday 24 March) Hunslet entertain Coventry Bears at the South Leeds Stadium. Kick off is at 3pm, tickets cost £15, £10 concessions, under 16 are free.


Hunslet RLFC:  Jimmy Watson, Gareth Potts, Tom Ashton, Dale Bloomfield, Jack Lee, Adam Robinson, Ryan Wright, Zac Braham, Nyle Flynn, Josh Tonks, Duanne Straugheir, Mike Emmett, Dan Hawksworth, Interchange:  Reece Dean, Vila Halafihi, Danny Nicklas, Harry Kidd.

West Wales Raiders:  Ryan Smith, Sam Freeman, Matt Reid, Earl Hurst, Rob Massam, Steve Roper, Elliott Jenkins, Warren Thompson, Karl Ashall, Callum Hazzard, Jack Houghton, Simon Atherton, Kenny Baker,.  Interchange:  Joe Ryan, Kenny Hughes, Brad Brennan, Jonny Walker.