Cockburn School contested two of the five boys’ Leeds & Hunslet Schools’ Rugby League Cup Finals, held recently at the South Leeds Stadium. The Year 7 side battled out an exciting contest with Brigshaw in the Gilston Cup Final,  which eventually saw the trophy shared. Cockburn took an 8-0 lead in the first half, but Brigshaw drew level at 12-all mid-way through the second half, before each side scored a further try to make it 16-16. Five minutes of extra time could not separate the sides, although the outstanding Naphtali Mutombo almost snatched victory for Cockburn. A draw was a fair result, with player of the match awarded to Brigshaw’s play-maker Ted Teale.

The Cockburn Year 8 team fell short in the Goldthorpe Cup Final, although the 32-18 score-line to Allerton Grange does not reflect the closeness of the game: Cockburn led for much of the first half and part of the second half, before tries by Allerton Grange’s strong-running Billy Naylor led them to victory.

Other cup winners were Brigshaw, who beat Leeds West 24-16 in the Year 9 Lee Trophy Final; Crawshaw, who defeated Allerton Grange 42-24 in the Year 10 Harrison Shield, and Farnley who had a commanding 48-0 victory over Brigshaw in the Year 11 Wilson Cup Final. Hunslet Vice President Peter Jarvis was involved in the trophy presentations, along with former Hunslet players Alan Charlton and Neil Lean, and  Steve McGrail (great-grandson of Albert Goldthorpe).

South of the river school Morley reached the finals of the Year 8 girls’ indoor touch rugby championships but were beaten by Farnley.

Schools’ rugby league events next term include girls’ contact competitions, boys’ “nines” tournaments and primary school festivals.

For more information about the schools’ rugby league in the city, log on to the Leeds & Hunslet SRL Facebook page Leeds & Hunslet Schools’ Rugby League | Facebook , or the website:

Steve Boothroyd


Leeds & Hunslet Schools’ Rugby League