OULTON are firmly back in the battle for automatic promotion from the National Conference League’s First Division after accounting for second-placed Kells 19-6.

The Raiders are third, and only a point behind Kells, after having built on a 12-6 interval lead with a Liam Wiggins try, Kieran Walpole’s third conversion, and a Danny Mackintosh drop-goal.

Adrian Holdsworth and Harvey Stevens had claimed Oulton’s opening scores.

A long trip to Workington, however, turned out to be fruitless for DRIGHLINGTON – the only other side in South of the River territory to play in a truncated National Conference League programme.

Drig lost 66-12 at promotion-chasing Seaton Rangers, who led 36-0 at the interval.

Harrison Brererton crossed for the visitors a couple of minutes after the restart, but Rangers were 66-6 ahead as the final whistle beckoned, before a Tom Pickles touchdown and Cameron Jones’ second conversion helped both sides avoid an unwanted scoreline in what was nevertheless Drighlington’s fifth successive defeat in the Third Division.


Saturday 25 June 2022

National Conference League

Division One: Featherstone Lions 36, Skirlaugh 20; Myton Warriors 28, Saddleworth Rangers 22; OULTON RAIDERS 19, Kells 6.

Division Two: Dewsbury Celtic 42, Woolston Rovers 0; Heworth 48, Dewsbury Moor Maroons 14.

Division Three: Hensingham 32, Millom 34; Seaton Rangers 66, DRIGHLINGTON 12.


Saturday 2 July 2022

Premier Division: HUNSLET CLUB PARKSIDE v Lock Lane; Pilkington Recs v Leigh Miners Rangers; Siddal v Thatto Heath Crusaders; West Hull v Thornhill Trojans; York Acorn v Rochdale Mayfield.

Division One: Hull Dockers v Ince Rose Bridge; Myton Warriors v STANNINGLEY v OULTON RAIDERS; West Bowling v Featherstone Lions; Wigan St Patricks v Milford.

Division Two: Barrow Island v Woolston Rovers; Bradford Dudley Hill v Crosfields; Dewsbury Celtic v HUNSLET WARRIORS; Dewsbury Moor Maroons v Heworth; Normanton Knights v Beverley; Wigan St Judes v Clock Face Miners.

Division Three: Bentley v Batley Boys; Oldham St Annes v DRIGHLINGTON; Hensingham v EAST LEEDS; Seaton Rangers v Millom; Shaw Cross Sharks v Eastmoor Dragons; Waterhead Warriors v Leigh East.