HEAD coach Alan Kilshaw has resisted the temptation to ring the changes as Hunslet prepare to host leading Rugby League amateurs Heworth in the second round of the Betfred Challenge Cup on Sunday (26 February, 3.00pm).

‘Killer’ has left out Michael Knowles (who suffered a dead leg) and Kieron Lawton from the side that lost narrowly at Doncaster in last weekend’s Betfred League One opener; he has, meanwhile, drafted Dan McGrath and Fraser Stroud into his 21-man squad.

He said: “We have resisted the opportunity to rotate too much, as we need to build some consistency and combinations. We have a very capable squad and I know it’s hard for the lads who are not making the 17 again this week. I fully appreciate they all want to play but we have to pick the side we feel most suitable for each game.

“That doesn’t mean, though, that the lads who won’t feature this week are any less able. They will get their opportunities; the reality is that everyone needs to contribute throughout the season if we are to reach the goals we have set ourselves.

“We have a couple with knocks after last week which we won’t risk, plus a couple we need to get through Friday’s session before we finalise the squad. It was a very physical game at Doncaster, so I am pleased about how well we have pulled up.”

Kilshaw concluded: “We have done as much preparation on Heworth as we could. We had someone at the cup game but unfortunately if the game was filmed nobody has been keen to share it with us.

“Heworth had a successful season last year, winning the National Conference League Division Two title, and they are very well coached. They have developed players who are at York in the Championship, which is a great indication of what the club are about. We know they will be coming to try and rattle a few cages, and we won’t miss anything in our preparation.”

Hunslet will select from: Jimmy Watson, Jack Render, Adam Ryder, Joe Burton, Jake Sweeting, Nathan Conroy, Harvey Hallas, Sam Hallas, Steve Crossley, Josh Jordan-Roberts, Aaron York, Danny Barcoe, Nathan Newbound, Jordan Syme, Lewis Wray, Liam Carr, Fraser Stroud, Danny McGrath, Jordan Bull, Sean Croston, Harvey Whiteley.